Guest Reviews

Guest Reviews 
Here are our reviews from around the web for our holiday cottages, holiday houses, and serviced apartments in Winchester UK 
- a big "Thank You" to our guests for taking the time and making the effort to share your experience! 
Reviews are written at the end of a stay
Guest Reviews 2016

Stephen Forde
November 2016
No. 78 St Cross Road

Desiree and Tessa communicated clearly at all times. Tessa was welcoming and helpful throughout. The apartment is furnished to a lovely standard. The bedroom is spacious and very comfortable. The kitchen has all the appliances you need and the welcome packs for dog and baby are ideal. Once the stove is lit you won't want to leave. The location is perfect to explore the city, its shops and market. This apartment is ideal for a cosy long lazy stay.
What Stephen loved about your listing: Very warm comfortable and cosy stay. Thank you kindly for letting it to us.

What Stephen thought you could improve about the experience: Tessa, we had a great stay. Thanks

It was lovely to meet you all. I'm so pleased you found the flat had everything you needed. Great to know that Freddie liked his bed and that you had such fun using the wood-burner. I hope you'll be back very soon. Tessa x


Judith Osborn
November 2016
No. 11 Cossack Lane House

The location was excellent, right in the heart of Winchester. Apartment was comfortable. Was disappointed the was no tea or coffee etc even as a welcome pack. Not a grain of sugar salt or anything. So be prepared. This was the apartment that I originally tried to book but was told it was not suitable for children, we have and 8 year old, so we booked a different apartment only to be told less than a week beforehand that it was not available and we had a choice of two other apartments. One being the apartment we were told was not suitable. I am guessing it is because the noise carried easily between apartments. Overall a nice apartment. Just disappointed with kitchen supplies compared to my other airbnb experiences.
Private Feedback: A few housekeeping notes. The cold tap in the dressing room does not shut off properly. The dish washer rack comes off the runners, although I think I may have fixed it. We put a battery in the clock. Filled up the salt shaker and left some sugar. Honestly just a starter pack of tea coffee etc would be great and a welcome after a long journey, makes a huge difference. Thank you

Judith Thank you for staying with us! Sorry you were disappointed with the kitchen supplies but due to health and safety regulations we only supply food and drink when specifically requested.


Heleen Kennedy
October 2016

Very good communication from owner Tessa. Clear instructions for appliances etc., nice recommendations for restaurants and info on general sightseeing.
What Heleen loved about your listing: Good location, pleasant and comfortable atmosphere
Cleanliness feedback: Your guest suggested that your space could be cleaner in the following areas: bathroom, dust, kitchen. Additional comments: “fridge could do with a clean, dishwasher had still stuff in it, some dust and cobwebs in bedroom and bathroom.”.
Value feedback: Cleaning fee seems excessive and don't really understand why £47 service fee is added to bill.

Heleen Thank you for staying with us!



Becky Courtney-Smith
October 2016
No. 73 Tower Street
We really enjoyed our stay in Winchester. The house is lovely and in a fabulous location. Desiree was incredibly helpful and replied to any and all text messages / questions etc within minutes. I highly recommend.

Becky - Thank you for being the Perfect Guest!



George Niedringhaus
October 2016
No. 79 Tower Street
Desiree was organised and responsive and the house is definitely in a quiet, yet convenient location. I don't believe that the double bed in one bedroom is actually a king - it seemed more like a US full/double size so sleeping for two (small) adults was a challenge. Parking is available up the street in a large garage and there is a good diner close by. The place was clean but has been well-used and could use some updating.
What George thought you could improve about the experience: Already addressed 
Accuracy feedback: Your guest mentioned some issues that weren’t accurately reflected in your listing description: amenities. Additional comments: “2-person bed was tiny - smaller than advertised and so we didn't get much sleep (and my wife and I are both small people). Also, linens were old, stained and missing key items - i.e. top sheets. Towels were cheap and worn. ”.
Cleanliness feedback: Your guest suggested that your space could be cleaner in the following areas: floors and carpet, towels and linens, odours, bathroom. Additional comments: “House generally clean but carpets and linens were worn/dated and there was a lingering bad smell of what seemed to be wood floor cleaner. Also it smelled of cigarettes. The bathroom could use an extractor fan (for background noise if nothing else)”.
Amenities feedback: I'd recommend the following: 
  • a) replace double bed with a proper sized one - at least a queen. 
  • b) replace towels and linens. 
  • c) replace furniture. 
  • d) get rid of smells.
Location feedback: We never were able to get a Zone R parking space so just ended up paying for the parking structure (after our ticket). I think it would be wise to tell people that's the default option. The cost was reasonable enough. The road was blocked when we arrived (due to construction) so it would have been nice to know about that prior.

There is often a confusion over USA and UK bed sizes what UK call a king size bed is a USA double size bed - so please accept our apologies. Thanks for the feedback George we are working on your suggestions of updating.



Tony Li
October 2016
No. 12 St Clement Street
wonderful location,I extend my stay here.

Always happy to have Tony & his colleagues stay with us!


Jack Clare
October 2016
No. 01 St Swithuns Court

Very good, clean and as described
Thanks for staying with us Jack - hope to see you all again!


Helen Stokes
October 2016
Mews Cottage

Ideal for visiting Winchester
What Helen loved about your listing: Excellent location and all comfortable flat
What Helen thought you could improve about the experience: Lack of space would make it difficult to have a microwave but we missed it!

Thanks for staying with us Helen - hope to see you all again!


Grace Beech
October 2016
No. 06 Magdalen Mews

If your looking for a perfectly convenient place to stay whilst in Winchester this is definitely it. There were 4 of us so it was slightly on the cosy side but that didn't bother us as we are used to sharing a house, this could be off putting for others that aren't. Other than that, there are no real complaints from any of us, the property suited us perfectly. Desiree was easy To talk to and flexible enough before arriving to the property allowing us to arrive early which was great.
Amenities feedback: I would perhaps suggest a couple of updates, especially in the bathroom as the cold tap is loose and missing the top

Thanks for the feedback Grace - acting on it now!



Effie Seguel
October 2016
No. 79 Tower Street

Our stay was great. The house was clean. Location was awesome. Parking was an issue. If you could be more clearer on parking and that you are not guaranteed apark on the road or near the house. Also Tea and sugar supply would of been great like all the other B&B's we have stayed at. Over all a comfy stay.


Thank for you feedback Effie - acting on it now!


Xiao Ke
October 2016
No. 73 Tower Street
It is a really comfortable house. I chose it twice because this place make me feel like home, it's location is also pretty good. Recommended!

I hope you 3rd stay at another of our properties Xiao - works out well for you!


Nicole Gruss
October 2016

Great location, beautiful apartment and had everything we needed!

We are happy to know you all enjoyed your stay - thank you for staying with us!


Tony Li
October 2016

It has a good view of town centre from the living room, about 5 minutes walk to the bus station. and the host clean this house every week, it's a pleasant stay.

Glad to know you enjoyed your stay - hope your 2nd stay at No. 02 Becks Mews is as enjoyable !


Xiao Ke
October 2016 
It is a very nice and comfortable house to live in, good location but quiet, I really enjoyed my stay at Desiree's house!

Great to know you enjoyed your stay at No. 73 Tower Street - looking forward to your 2nd visit tomorrow!


Tony From Zhengzhou, China
October 2016
This house has a wonderful place,near the high street,and very convenient to the town centre. The host is nice,quick response when we need a help. Thanks.

Tony Good to know the No. 12 St Clement Street has worked out well for you and your colleague Steven, so much so you have extended your stay there! Thanks Desiree


Mark From Leeds, United Kingdom
September 2016 
A lovely characterful house in the heart of Winchester. Plenty of space and very clean and well serviced. We'll probably stay there again if we need to

Great to have you all stay - come back soon!



Lisa From Mechanicsville, PA
September 2016
This town-home is lovely and close to the beautiful historic sites of Winchester and fabulous High Street shopping. We arrived from the U.S. prior to check-in time and Desiree was very accommodating and allowed us to drop our luggage off at the house prior to arrival time. This was a perfect place to stay while visiting Winchester. The house was clean and the neighbourhood was quiet!

Delighted to have you stay with us - do hope you can come again soon! 


Mythi From Wellington, New Zealand
September 2016
Host was lovely and welcoming. Desiree was curt. Not as spacious as it looks. Comfortable bed. Hot water in shower lukewarm.

Mythi - we are so sorry you did not enjoy your stay at No. 24 West End Terrace. - Beverley & Desiree


Linda Eamonn From Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
September 2016 

Linda - Hope you can come to Winchester again under happy circumstances - Desiree

Jim From Agoura Hills, CA
September 2016
Mews Cottage

Communication was fine. Hosts are next door. We did not meet them until 5 days into our stay. Entry was via lock-box. The cottage is charming, rustic, cosy. Low ceiling in the bedroom on the second floor. Kitchen is adequate for cooking simple meals. The location is excellent, about 5 blocks to the heart of Winchester, which is a charming town. Mews Lane is a charming street. There is a parking place in front.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay - great guests, we would recommend them.

Julie
September 2016
No. 01 St Swithuns Court

Beautiful house in excellent location. Just a minute or so walk to the centre. Host communication was good and facilities in the property excellent and thoughtful. Thank you for hosting us.

Happy to know you found the house and its amenities and location excellent. Hope to see you again soon.
Regina
September 2016

Ich kann mich den positiven Bewertungen hier nur in vollem Umfang anschließen und würde diese Unterkunft jederzeit wieder buchen.

Thanks for your kind words Regina. It was a great pleasure to meet you and your lovely family. I'm so pleased you had such a fun time discovering Winchester. Best Tessa and Desiree x 


Thomas Lüke
September 2016
Tessa made contact early, responded quickly and was right there when we arrived. She was a warm and welcoming host. The flat is situated well, just a quick walk to the park to go either in the direction of Winchester centre or up the hill to have a nice view over the town. The apartment was very clean, equipped with everything we needed - we especially liked the gas stove, the Nespresso machine and the shower :)

I'm delighted that you had a good time and found everything you needed for your dog and the baby. I love waking up with a Nespresso coffee too - which is why I've put a machine in the apartment. Tessa and Desiree x

September 2016

Hattie
August 2016 · 
No. 78(LGF) St Cross Road

Fantastic apartment in an excellent location for exploring Winchester. Beautiful period flat with very nice bathroom and great rainfall shower!!! We didn't use the kitchen as we were out all the time but it's perfectly set up for your stay and the beds were super comfy. Will definitely stay again next time we are visiting!

It was great to meet you and the family Hattie. I'm so pleased you liked the flat - and the shower. Really hope to see you all again very soon. Tessa and Desiree x

August 2016

Liz
August 2016 
No. 79 Tower Street

The house was very nice, two bedrooms which we knew and a very good and quiet location, no problem for us at all.

Great to have you all stay - hope you can return soon!



Scott
August 2016
Mews Cottage

A great little cottage - but it is small. Great location and overall good value. 

Glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciated being so close to town. Hope to see you again


Bobbie Caswell
August 2016

Desiree was great and the communication was spot on. She fulfilled all our needs and was able to talk to if we needed to. The property was lovely, just like the pictures. Would definitely recommend again.

Thank you Bobbie - your people were great guests.



Emily Kirwan
August 2016
No. 78(LGF) St Cross Road

Desiree's place is just as described - a tranquil, comfortable lovely stay in the heart of Winchester. It's moments from the lovely river walks and all the attractions you might like to see, and easy stumbling distance from the great pubs. The house has all the facilities you need and is very cosy and welcoming - we had a wonderful stay and luxurious sleeps.

Glad you felt welcomed and enjoyed our lovely pubs and the gorgeous walks in and around Winchester. It was a pleasure to meet you both. Tessa and Desiree x


Scott
August 2016
No. 73 Tower Street

This house is great. very spacious, well equipped and close to everything in Winchester - thank you for a great stay

Thank you for staying at No. 73 Tower Street - hope to see you again soon!


Luke Spicer
August 2016
No. 24 West End Terrace Annexe

Had a great stay. The flat is very clean and had everything we needed. Location was also perfect for walking in to the centre of town. Desiree was great with communication and rapidly responded to any questions I asked.

Thank you for staying at No. 24 West End Terrace Annexe - hope to see you again!


Philippe
August 2016
No. 01 St Swithuns Court

Excellent accommodation with all comfort needed. 10 min walk to City Centre and 5 min drive to M3. We had issue with the WiFi and this was rectified within 12 hours by on site visit from the owner. Nice friendly agent and smooth holiday experience.

Thank you Philippe - great to know it all worked out well for you - hope to see you again!


Mary
August 2016 

A beautiful little flat, perfect for our needs and at a reasonable cost. Everything was in a good condition and with a very high level of amenities. I would definitely return given the opportunity.

Thanks Mary - Glad it all worked out for you ! Thank for the heads up on the shower drain will have housekeeping pay extra attention to that!


Paul
August 2016
Stunning period apartment in a quiet area of the city but only 20 mins walk into the centre. Comfortable and finished to a very high standard, we loved our time spent here. Perfect for that weekend away and highly recommended!

So pleased you had a good time exploring Winchester - you certainly picked the weather for it - and enjoyed your stay in the apartment. It would be great to see you for Boom-town next year! Tessa and Desiree. x


Manuel
August 2016

Our stay at Winchester has been very enjoyable. The house is in a good location (next to the train station and city centre). This made it easier to get to and from Southampton airport. The kitchen was clean and well-equipped. Overall, it was a great experience.

Happy to know you all enjoyed yourselves! Hope you will come again...


Li Li
August 2016
Good locale, clean, nice staff.

Thank you Lili!



Duncan
August 2016
No. 78(LGF) St Cross Road

We had an excellent stay, location was excellent as it is walking distance to town, plenty of parks around to hangout with my 10 month old son and 5 minute drive to Sainsbury's super market. We requested for baby equipment and everything was ready and Tessa greeted us with a warm welcoming smile. Highly recommend this flat to young families or couples visiting Winchester!

It was great to meet you all and I'm so pleased you had a good time and enjoyed the lovely walks. I hope to wee you in Winchester again. Tessa and Desiree x


Roy

Desiree provided very adequate instructions to obtain the key and all worked smoothly. The apartment was clean and adequately appointed, with a small supply of essentials like tea & coffee. Provision of a microwave and a dust pan and broom would be an improvement. The location in Winchester is most convenient with an easy walk into the city and the local pubs are great. Provision of the very good local map and a suggestion to visit the local military museum which has lots of tourist information would be helpful; it also has a great coffee shop (The Little Kitchen Cafe) with free WiFi. Overall, we were most happy with our stay. Pity we didn't meet Desiree

Hi Roy I'm sorry I was not here to welcome you to Mews Cottage but hope you had a lovely time. Sometimes little things go astray when I'm not here, so looks like the cleaners must have hidden the dustpan and broom. As you know the kitchen is very well equipped for such a tight space with a full size oven and hob and a dishwasher. We would love to squeeze in a microwave, but there just isn't the space. As you know Winchester is full of wonderful coffee shops and restaurants so we hope you got to try some of these. Kind regards Karen & Desiree


Jill

Desiree was really helpful, quick to respond to our questions and made us feel very welcome

We are Delighted: to have you stay with us at No. 01b 1 Clifton Terrace We are Excited: to know what you loved about our property (listing): Everything - WOW! thank you so much :) We are Tweaking: what you thought we could improve about the experience: upgrade the seating in the lounge to really comfortable ... - hopefully to be upgraded in time for when you return to stay at Christmas :)


Gavin

Great location and all the facilities required for a comfortable stay.

Really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon. Tessa and Desiree. x


Ifty
Desiree & Tessa had arranged everything from Keys to Milk! No fuss, very straight forward, lovely location....beautiful walk along the river to town....especially on a lovely summer evening The apartment was clean and had all you needed....certainly for a weekend.

It was a great pleasure to host you. I'm so pleased you - and your lovely dog - enjoyed the river walk.


Esther

The flat was in a great location walking distance to Winchester. Minutes to all shops and sites. It was well equipped

Great to have you stay - do come again!



Kim
Excellent apt in perfect location just off High Street, a block or two from groceries stores, easy to walk to all the sights around Winchester from the Cathedral to the Westgate, military museums and the water meadows. The apt has all you could need (including access to building's washer/dryer and a designated parking spot) and is nicely done. We highly recommend it!

Kim - you are so kind - thank you very much!


Petra
We zijn goed opgevangen en hebben goede instrukties ontvangen van alles in de woning. Deze voldeed volkomen aan de verwachting volgens de beschrijving. De woning staat midden in de stad Winchester en toen wij aan kwamen was alles nieuw.

We glad you enjoyed the property and the bed!


Mike
We booked another self-catering apartment but we were asked to move five days before the booking was due to commence. Fortunately we were very happy with this flat. It is well furnished, quite spacious and very close to the centre of Winchester. We enjoyed our stay. The parking space is quite tight if you have a large car.

Thanks Mike!



Tim
It was a pleasure to communicate with Désirée. 
The house was clean and in accordance with our expectations. No complains!!

Thank You Tim - do come and stay again!


Tom
Lovely apartment, perfect for a week of business travel or a short break for two. Would definitely recommend to others, and will probably visit again in the future. Thank you for your hospitality.

Thank you for your private feedback we would be very pleased to see you again.


Vicky
We were welcomed into a lovely flat by the owner. Lots of natural light, comfortable and clean apartment. It had everything we needed, they even went the extra mile and set up the travel cot for us. Thank-you again. We would highly recommend this place.

Thank you for your kind words!



Gisele
Comfortable, very convenient location. We were met by a friend as landlady was away who told us what we needed to know (she just mentioned the supermarkets closed at 6/7 when in fact is 8. :). No complaints.

Gisele I Agree! It would be nice to be able to have a cup of tea on arrival and not to have to buy everything from scratch, e.g.. salt, tea, etc. However in order to comply with food hygiene standards all items must be unopened and within the use by date. Back in 2005 when we started our Furnished Holiday Lettings business we used to provide all of these things and a welcome pack including a full English breakfast - we found that there was a lot of waste - they were not used (not to some people 's tastes) even specifically requested items - went out of date (we had to throw a lot away) - if they were opened they were unfinished creating even more waste (we don't cope well with wasting things) so we decided to not provide food stuffs unless specifically requested - we offer to shop for an arrival welcome pack and we discovered most guests prefer to shop for themselves choosing their own items. I travel to the USA a lot and like you I love to drink tea so I always pack English Breakfast tea bags, sugar and milk sachets (they all fit into a small plastic container) just a few to tide me over until I can re provision, I also take a dual voltage travel kettle as Americans only have filter coffee makers and that makes an absolutely terrible cup of tea! I now send a Booking and Arrival Preferences questions to guests when the reservation is confirmed covering beds, arrival times, arrival food and drink - do you think that would work for you and your group in the future? Desiree


Jemma Campbell
June 2016
No. 12 St Clement Street

Perfect location to explore the lovely town of Winchester, only one street back from the high street. The house itself was a good size for our family of four and Desiree was very kind to organise a travel cot and high chair for our youngest. The pub next door means that there is some late night noise at closing time as everyone walks past the house, the back room was much quieter for the kids though. We did get a shock on the first night when the pub emptied the bottles into the wheelie bin but thankfully it only happened once a day! There is no space to park a car at the house, but Desiree does provide a parking permit which can be used in the nearby streets(never more than a 5 minute walk) and we found there to be no problem pulling the car up outside the house to load/unload the kids. We had a great holiday in Winchester and would definitely stay at Honeysuckle Cottage again.

Great having you stay - yes unfortunately there is a trade off between the city centre location and the city centre night noise.


Christopher Mullen
March 2016
Mews Cottage

Very pleasant little cottage, quite well equipped and cosy and in an excellent quiet cul-de-sac within easy walking distance of the cathedral, station, shops and restaurants. The bed is a little hard and the garden is shared so if you are a dog owner while this is a dog-friendly place be aware that there are usually other dogs around in the garden.

Thank you Christopher - Hope to see you again!



Matt Johnson
February 2016
No. 79 Tower Street

Lovely place, very homely! Desiree is a great host and always there to help. Highly recommend

...and we posted back items left behind!



Rebecca O'Rourke
February 2016
No. 78 (LGF) St Cross Road

Beautifully furnished and equipped with everything you might need. Host was very welcoming and if there was anything I should need was very accommodating.

How kind - thank you very much!



David Llewellyn
January 2016
No. 79 Tower Street

We had a great stay. Very central location and Warm welcome.

Great guest - great communication throughout their stay - happy to have them all stay again :)


Estelle James
January 2016
No. 78(LGF) St Cross Road

Beautiful apartment, excellent location, everything thought of, thoroughly recommend and will definitely be back. Thanks very much

Tessa says "Great to meet you. I'm so pleased you liked the apartment and had such a good time in Winchester. There are plenty more restaurants to try out!"


Jonathan Taylor
January 2016
No. 78(LGF) St Cross Road

Made us feel very welcome A nice quiet neighbourhood A very nice host, the apartment was very clean, and comfortable. Highly recommended.

Thank you very much !



James Horrocks
January 2016
Mews Cottage

The cottage is a beautiful little home and we fell in love with it over the last week - if only we could live there all the time! It's only a few minutes walk from the town centre, the train station, local pubs and restaurants. The access to the garden is a wonderful bonus. Very quiet location, towards the end of a little lane that has no through access. We certainly hope to stay again.

James - very happy to have you stay - do hope you will come again!












Guest Reviews 2015

Tan Minzy
December 2015
No. 02 Becks Mews

Had an amazing experience staying at 2 Becks news, Philip waited for us to arrive at the house and gave us a very warm welcome and detailed descriptions of the house and the heating systems. It was very lovely of him to think of putting up some Christmas decorations around the house. Located at a very convenient area 3 mins away from the train station, it was also easy to get to the city centre. Thank you for having us, and the next time my family comes over we will definitely stay again!We loved the Very cosy, and lovely house decor!

Thank you Minzy - we were happy to have you stay and more than happy to have return.


Lindsay Mathwick
December 2015
No.24 West End Terrace Annexe

This was a great stay in the wonderful city of Winchester. The apartment was perfect for our party of three and the kitchen was very useful to make tea and breakfast. A pleasant walk into the city with lots to do and see! The binder with recommendations of places to eat was very helpful and we had a great dinner one night at the local Thai restaurant. I would certainly stay here again on another trip to Winchester.

Lindsay it was a delight to have you stay with us - we hope you will return in the future!


Alexander Farrar
December 2015
No. 78 (LGF) St Cross Road

The apartment is beautiful and we enjoyed our stay over Christmas. We were treated very nicely and we would certainly stay again. I am from Winchester, so I can accurately say that the location of the apartment is one of the finest in Winchester, with a short walk to the cathedral, the water meadows, and the beautiful Winchester college area. Thanks for our pleasant stay.

Thank you Alexander - we were happy to have you stay and for you to return in the future.


Richard Pratt
December 2015
No. 12 St Clement Street

Lovely place and perfectly situated to explore Winchester Cathedral etc . Desiree very helpful and understanding about our late arrival caused by miserable traffic on a Sunday night. Totally recommend it !

How kind - thank you !



Fiona Sansom
December 2015
No. 03 St Thomas Mews
Very warm greeting from Sandra as arranged by Desiree quick and friendly responses from Desiree The cottage was perfect in space and location. Winchester is a perfect setting any time of the year. 
Accuracy feedback: The photos don't do the cottage justice

Wow what a lovely review! - Thanks Fiona - it was a please to have you both stay - do come back soon!
What Fiona loved : A home away from home, 2 minutes away from the cathedral.


Mark O'Donoghue
November 2015
No. 79 Tower Street

I spent a wonderful week in this beautiful cottage, right in the heart of Winchester which was ideal, cottage was spacious and warm, felt like a second home, fully recommend staying here and Desiree was a fantastic host, 10/10.

Thanks Mark - it was a please to have you all stay.



Emily Nixon
November 2015
No. 24 West End Terrace Annexe

We had a lovely stay and found the flat very comfortable, we would go back again. The host was very helpful - it was convenient for the centre of Winchester. We loved the convenience and comfort

We are delighted the flat worked out for you - love to have you back to stay again and we love your jewellery designs!


Philip Franks
October 2015
No. 12 St Clement Street

This is a perfectly located, well equipped and exceptionally clean property. It is perhaps on the expensive side, and there is no welcome or starter pack provided, (milk, tea etc) but a few teething problems were sorted out swiftly and courteously by Desiree's staff.

Thanks for the review Philip - we now can offer tailored welcome packs as an additional paid guest service - let us know what you want and we will shop for it for you.


David Monnier
October 2015
No. 12 St Clement Street

Fantastic cottage. Anything you might need to feel at home is available. The location simply cannot be better. There is a bit of noise in the night from the hotels if you stay in the front bedroom but some earplugs can solve that if you're a light sleeper. Hardly an issue given the location and value. Will certainly stay again given the chance.

Thanks for the tip David - We are working on a solution to the bit of noise in the night from the hotels so earplugs are not required if you are a light sleeper.


Ben Lang
October 2015
No. 78 (LGF) St Cross Road

Tessa was a gracious host. She was not only there to welcome us and wish us goodbye, but made herself available to us throughout the duration of our stay. For those that have not yet visited Winchester, she also provided an extensive guide to the local sites, restaurant, and social on goings... which has been even more extensively authored for dog owners. The listing is near the local college and several of the most notable pubs and restaurants, and only 10 minutes walking distance from the centre of town. I'd recommend the flat to anyone who wants a quiet, modern, and warm place to rest there head with plenty of greenery nearby. The flat is also very near to the motorway which makes for easy travelling outside of Winchester.s
Tessa, we appreciated your accommodating nature and warm welcome. Anyone who has yet to visit Winchester would benefit from the depth of your local insights. Thank you for having us!

Wow. What a lovely review. Thank you for your kind words Ben.


Kimberley Cleland
October 2015
No. 73 Tower Street

Desiree was really responsive while we were making the booking and instructions were very clear. She was able to have someone there at the time we wanted to check in and they were very welcoming and thorough with showing us around. The house itself was spotless and perfect for our trip away. We loved being right in the centre of Winchester yet in a quiet location. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend and to stay again ourselves!

Thank you Kimberly we all try very hard to get it right for our guests and we all really appreciate your acknowledgement of this!


依珊 余
September 2015
No. 78 (LGF) St Cross Road

The landlord was so nice and so was the house. Everything was beyond my expectation. Wish I can stay for more time.

Great to have you as our guest - hope to see you again soon!


Richard Bergin
September 2015
No. 79 Tower Street

I booked this house for my wife and her sister who were visiting relatives in the area, and it could not have been a better base for them. They were very happy there, it really is a home from home, very clean, comfortable and with all the appliances you would need. The beds in particular were very comfortable. They found the house was in a great location, just a few minutes walk from the train station, and also within easy walking distance of the high street. You don't really need a car in Winchester, everything is in walking distance of the house, including all the major attractions. A great place, unhesitatingly recommended as a base in Winchester

Thanks - we enjoyed having you stay - do come again!



Frances Holly
September 2015
No. 11 Cossack Lane House

Number 11 Cossack Lane is a comfortable, quiet and well equipped flat in an excellent location in the centre of Winchester. No need for a car once there. Plenty to see and do in Winchester, and the city is central to the south coast and Jane Austen country. We enjoyed our stay very much.

Frances - Thank you so much. - We hope you will come and stay again. Desiree


Peter Roberts
July 2015
No. 06 Magdalen Mews

We were asked to consider an alternative apartment a couple of days before arrival. The new apartment description was accurate and the city centre location was excellent. Communication was simple and immediate. There were however several problems that marred the experience. On arrival, we were unable to park in the shared double bay as all neighbour's bins were stored in our section. Parking was possible only by blocking access to the other car in the bay. I had to leave a note for the other driver to call me when he needed use his car. This problem was never resolved. On entering the apartment, the first thing we needed was a cup of tea after a 5.5 hour drive and the parking hassles. Unfortunately, there was no tea and no welcome pack, which meant we had to find a shop. The apartment also backs on to a very busy and noisy road. I would recommend this apartment if you don't mind road noise and only have a small car for parking. Peter Roberts

What a shame the wheelie bins were not moved out of the parking area - I had asked the owner to do so and believed it was done - silly me - I should have checked - we now monitor the bins on a weekly basis! We do not provide a welcome pack as we found these items are often little or not used and once opened for health and safety reasons they have to be thrown away, or when they go out go out of date they also have to be thrown away. Luckily the shop was just across the road for you to purchase everything you needed for a cup of tea. The location is very central but with that alas comes traffic noise Parking for a small car is possible - if you have a large car - let us know and we will see what we can do.


Christine Braybrook
July 2015
No. 11 Cossack Lane House

Desiree had good communication on the day of arrival to confirm arrival time. A friendly representative of Desiree was there to meet us on arrival and check us in. The 2nd floor spacious flat was very clean and tidy with a well equipped kitchen. We didn't meet the neighbours but others living within the block were friendly when passing on the stairs. The flat is in an excellent location, close to the town centre. The only drawback was on the first day another car was parked in the designated space for the flat. Unfortunately the representative was unable to offer a solution. Luckily after several hours the car had moved. No further parking issues arose over our stay. I will also comment that the parking area under the flat is very tight. Overall a very pleasant stay in Winchester in a lovely clean flat. I would recommend!
What Christine loved : The flat was very spacious and clean. Excellent location

Marta who checked you in apologises profusely - she got distracted and forgot to let me know about the car parking in the space - we would have traced the naughty person who parked in the allocated spot and ask them to move immediately - I do hope it did not detract too much from your enjoyment of the property - and the parking space is best for a small car as you state it is rather tight to turn into !


Loretta Egan
July 2015
Mews Cottage

This was by far the best property out of the four we have stayed in so far on this trip. The owner made us very welcome while not intruding in any way. The cottage is beautifully located in a quiet lane which is a short walk from the town centre. It is very well equipped, especially if, like me, you need to cook for yourself. The garden is a real bonus, we enjoyed having our breakfast out there in the gorgeous sunny weather. 
What Loretta loved : The location, the garden, Hector and Poppet.

Happy to have you stay - we hope you will come again!


Andrea Drugan
June 2015
No. 12 St Clement Street

My son and I stayed in this house for 4 days while visiting Winchester family. The house was perfectly located, with all of Winchester's boutique shops and cafes right at the end of the street. The house was just the right size for us, with a well appointed kitchen and lovely courtyard where we ate breakfast each day. The kitchen has good equipment but no food at all, even basic condiments, so be sure to pick up tea or coffee beforehand! There's a little bit of noise from the pub up the road (mostly emptying bottles into the trash at closing time) but it was quiet from midnight onward so it didn't affect us too much. Overall we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this cute house! 
What Andrea loved : Location, clean and well furnished house, easy check in and out!
What Andrea thought we could improve about the experience: More basics in the kitchen

We dislike unnecessary waste No food or basic condiments are supplied because we found that once opened we would have to throw the food away for legal, insurance and health and safety compliance reasons. We also discovered that we don't know what our guests tastes will be with respect to tea or coffee etc. as we have such a variety of nationalities stay with us. We also find that most people prefer to do their own grocery provisioning and as grocery shopping is readily available at various late night convenience stores and all night supermarkets that makes it easy for them. We are also happy to provide a fridge stocking service at a charge if requested. Will ask the pub to try empty the bottles during the day or do it as quietly as possible at night after closing!


Steffan Morris
May 2015
No. 01 St Swithuns Court

We really enjoyed our stay, it was in a perfect location and everything we needed and more!

Great to have you come stay at No. 01 St Swithuns Court - do come again !


Stuart Brennan
May 2015
No. 02 Becks Mews

A perfectly situated, well furnished, clean and spacious house. 5 minute walk to the train station and 5 minutes walk to the town centre. A perfect base to explore Winchester from and very courteous and helpful hosts. I would definitely recommend here!

Happy to have you return for another visit!



Katie Hall
May 2015
No. 01 St Swithuns Court
We had such a wonderful time staying at Desiree's place! There were 5 of us staying and there was plenty of room for all of us. We made use of the lovely outdoor spaces and the amazing upstairs living room with views over Winchester. Will most definitely be making a return visit!

Happy to have you stay any time !




May 2015
Mews Cottage

We haven't actually met Desiree, but the communication was quick and clear and friendly. We did meet Karen and her husband who were the actual flat owners and they are indeed the sweet and friendly couple. Karen provided us with everything we needed and the flat is very self is quite charming and comfortable. It has a big garden in front of it and one of the sunny days we were actually able to have lunch there surrounded by trees and warm and sunny weather. Everything was spotless clean and we have only good things to say about the flat and about Karen. I would definitely recommend it to anyone and would come back there myself.

- Great the hear it all worked out for you - hope to see you again at Mews Cottage in the near future - Desiree


Angel Holmes
May 2015
Mews Cottage

My stay at Mews Cottage was amazing! The cottage is as cute as the pictures make it look. The location is great - it is about a 10 minute walk to shops, restaurants and grocery stores in the downtown area. Desiree was easy to communicate with before and during my stay. I would stay there again in a minute!What Angel loved : Karen was a great host and responded quickly to any issues. I loved my stay!

Angel was a delightful guest, unfortunately there was a glitch with the washer dryer whilst she was staying but it is fixed now. Still with some sunny weather and a clothes line in the garden and the help of the host, she managed to get through her washing mountain before heading back to the US. Safe journey Angel, hope to see you again!


Sophia De La Fuente 
April 2015 
The host was very helpful to arrange a last minute change of plan and quick check in. Apartment was very comfortable and exactly as described. Highly recommended when staying in Winchester.

Lee - Very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the cottage, do come again!


Charlotte Wilcox 
April 2015 
Very good communication before my stay, and the owner was very helpful next door, it was perfect for what I needed.

Thank you we are glad you enjoyed Mews Cottage and hope to see you again!


Erin Zaroukian 
March 2015 

Great experience. Someone was waiting outside the building to meet me, walked me through the flat (and showed me where all the appliance manuals are kept), and answered all my questions (both the ones I had at the moment and ones I sent later via email). The flat itself was great. Clean, well-furnished, plenty of heat and hot water, reliable WiFi. The only issue I had was with the shower (I couldn't figure out how to avoid soaking the floor). You can sometimes hear the rumble of trains passing by, but I never found it bothersome.

Valentina Lattanzi 
Rating Review posted on Google+ 14 Jun 2015 
is the best stay in Winchester for 2-4 people! It is in a strategic and central position in town and you will feel at home in a typical English and warm place. I'll definitely want to stay there again. Thank you! 

Valentina thank you for your kind words. As always it is a pleasure to have your family stay at No. 06 Magdalen Mews. Hope to see you again soon ! Kindest Regards Desiree


Guest Reviews 2010 - 2014

Bill Kelly 
September 2014
No. 06 Magdalen Mews

The apartment was exactly as described, clean, modernly furnished with all conveniences, spacious. We had a guest stay over for a couple of nights, and the sofa-bed worked well. The apartment is ideally located near the centre of the city, and it suited us very well. The parking area under the apartment is convenient, but can be a tight squeeze.
What Bill loved : As previously mentioned
What Bill thought you could improve about the experience:
'Welcome pack' previously discussed


Lauren Hill
May 2014
No. 02 Becks Mews
This is a really lovely property and very well equipped for guests. I had a wonderful experience, with all my questions being quickly and helpfully answered both before booking and during the stay.


Sally Wilcox
December 2012
Mews Cottage
We stayed in the Mews Cottage, which suited us perfectly. We were working and turned up late, they were very accommodating. It is close to the centre, has a great pub close by (St. James Tavern). A home from home. Thank you.

Thanks it was a pleasure having to stay!


Bridget Wheeler
1 Oct 2012
No. 23 Wharf Hill
I had been planning on staying at the elegant 73 Tower Street but could not stay there because the current guests were having such a great time they extended their stay, so I was delighted to be offered the chance to try 23 Wharf Hill. Wharf Hill is a fantastic area of Winchester. Quiet, yet a pretty waterside stroll to the High Street, easy for parking and THE place to be for pubs and eateries (The Black Boy is rolling distance away). No 23 is a super former railwayman’s cottage, cosy, cute. The finishes are brand spanking new but it retains those charming period features- the cast iron fireplaces, the stripped pine doors. But it's bang up to date with WiFi, power shower and modern kitchen. I loved my stay in the cosy front bedroom, and a really comfy bed. All that I could hear at night if I opened the subtly double glazed window was the gentle sound of the river flowing. What a little gem. Bridget

Thank you Bridget!


A Google user
Rating Review posted on Google+ 10 Jan 2012 No. 23 Wharf Hill
I stayed at 23 Wharf Hill Road in December, over the Christmas holidays. It is a delightful little house with comfortable furniture and lots of space for up to two adults and two children. It has all the mod-cons you could wish for and is in a lovely location, close to the scenic river path that takes you to High Street. I highly recommend this property and A, D8 UK Limited.

Thank you


A Google user Rating Review
posted on Google+ 1 Jan 2012
No. 73 Tower Street
73 Tower Street is a fantastic property. All rooms are presented beautifully and the master bedroom is surprisingly spacious. The location is fantastic as is so centrally located and Tower Street is very charming. We loved our 4 week stay there and I would highly recommend this property and A,D8 UK Ltd for fantastic service.

Thank you!


A Google user
4 Dec 2011 
No. 38 Belgarum Place
38 Belgarum Place provided the perfect base to explore Winchester. My partner and I were moving to Winchester from London and our flat was delayed, so we needed a short-term rental until the flat was free. We looked at most of the properties available in Winchester and 38 Belgarum Place seemed the best equipped with a brilliant location for about the same, if not less, money than people were charging for less desirable rentals. The location was undoubtedly fantastic, seconds away from the very centre of Winchester and yet in a quiet, peaceful new development. The flat was smartly decorated and extremely well-equipped. We loved the main bed which was rather large and very comfortable - I haven't slept so well in an age. All the appliances were working correctly, modern and of a high standard. I spent hours relaxing in the decent-sized bath that never failed to deliver really hot water. Every detail was polished to perfection. For example, the wireless internet router was fast and configured absolutely correctly right down to having the most secure encryption settings to keep your data safe - most people renting flats wouldn't have the first idea about such a small but important detail. Finally, any queries we had were answered quickly and professionally, and with a considerable degree of charm, by Desiree from A D8 UK. This was quite obviously the easiest and best short-term rental experience we've had. Many thanks, Desiree!

Thank you so much!


A Google user Rating Review posted on Google+ 24 Nov 2011
11 Cossack Lane House 
was ideally located for our short break to Winchester / Southampton, and the bedrooms were a pleasant surprise as they were larger than we were expecting. There is a lift to this second floor flat, but any families with young children should note that it's only big enough for a single buggy. The only downside which prevents me giving five stars is that the shower is a bit lacklustre.

Thank you for staying with us!


A Google user Rating Review posted on Google+ 9 Aug 2011

Barbara - Premier Property Search as Relocation Consultants we deal with numerous Serviced Accommodation providers. A D8 UK Limited were easy to book with, incredibly co-operative and informative and went out of their way to assist us and our clients. The administration was excellent and the quality of the accommodation most certainly meet the standard and criteria you would expect.

Barbara - Thank you so much for entrusting us with your clients short term accommodation requirements!


A Google user Rating Review posted on Google+ 5 Aug 2011 Debbie & Graemme - August 2011 
16 Clifton Hill
We stayed at 16 Clifton Hill for two weeks and loved being there. The apartment is very comfortable with good light & sun even though it is a lower ground apartment. The bedroom is darker but is great for a good nights sleep - lovely bed.It is an easy walk to everywhere in Winchester Town which is full of interesting historic places to explore - River Itchen walk is beautiful and the old Flour Mill interesting to visit also. We would stay here again and recommend A,D8 UK Limited.

Thank you for staying with us!


A Google user Rating Review posted on Google+ 18 Jul 2011
16 Clifton Hill
Two friends and I stayed in 16 Clifton Hill apartment. It is clean, modern, friendly and very comfortable. The apartment is in an ideal location to the city centre. We would defiantly book with them again and recommend the services of A, D8 UK Limited. Also, in a group of four, we stayed in Belgarum Place. This was another fantastic stay!

Thank you so much for choosing us for your Winchester UK holiday apartment.


A Google user Rating Review posted on Google+ 5 Jul 2011
Crofton House, St Cross, Winchester 
This is a really lovely studio apartment. It is clean, elegant and comfortable with a delightful patio to enjoy alfresco dining. It’s a couple of miles outside of the city centre, but the walk along the river to get there is a very rewarding experience. The owners are warm, friendly and knowledgeable about the area and, if you’re a history buff, Winchester is pure heaven. From William the Conqueror through Alfred the Great and King Arthur to Mary Tudor, you are swamped with things to see and discover. There is also some great dining and ales to be had in town. Paula & Audrey, London

Thank you so much for choosing us for your Winchester UK Vacation Rental.


A Google user Rating Review posted on Google+ 28 Jan 2011
38 Belgarum Place 
My family and I stayed at 38 Belgarum Place and I completely agree with all the positive comments below. We stayed for a week and it was perfect. Clean, modern, ideally located with completely professional and responsive assistance from the management team. I would recommend it without hesitation.

Thank you so much for choosing us for your holiday accommodation Winchester UK.


A Google user Rating Review posted on Google+ 1 Dec 2010
16 (LGF) Clifton Hill 
is a lovely apartment - stylish, spacious and warm (despite the cold weather outside). Having a parking space is extremely helpful and it's central enough to give easy access to the town. The only negative is that the hill is a bit steep so that could be a difficulty for less mobile visitors. We'd definitely visit again, especially as the people we dealt with were all very helpful and friendly.

Thank you so much for choosing us for your self catering accommodation Winchester UK.


A Google user Review posted on Google+ 6 Aug 2010
38 Belgarum Place 
is a modern, well appointed, bright and clean apartment. Only moments from the High Street, it was a perfect base for our visit to Winchester. The beds and pillows were especially comfortable. Thank you, we would definitely book this again.

Thank you so much for choosing us for your short term accommodation needs in Winchester UK.


Comments